Showing posts with label James Gunn. Show all posts
Showing posts with label James Gunn. Show all posts

Friday, December 20, 2024

Superman Trailer

 

DC Comics strike back. I know I want to see this flick.

Friday, October 28, 2022

James Gunn to Head DC Comics

Interesting move - James Gunn has been named to the top job at DC Comics. He basically becomes the Kevin Feige of the world of Batman and Superman.  

Gunn was able to take characters not many had heard of before, The Guardians of the Galaxy, and turn it into one of Marvels best properties. Wonder if he'll go the reboot route or dig deep into the DC Universe to do stories on lesser known characters like Martian Manhunter or Swamp Thing. Or perhaps a mix of reboot and lesser character by doing a origin story of a character like Lex Luthor. Whatever he does guessing it will be interesting. 

Can't be any worse than what's been done up to this point.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Flotsam and Jetsam

Miscellaneous thoughts and observations.

Reminder "Joe Biden" is an anagram for "I Need Job"... Heh heh - very clever... For what it's worth I know multiple groups of guys who car pooled from Massachusetts to attend the Trump rally in Manchester, NH. I'm starting to think that Trump may carry liberal Mass in the general election... "Facts don't cease to exist because they are ignored." - Aldous Huxley... The Mookie Betts trade is giving me flashbacks to when the Bruins traded Joe Thornton who went on to win the NHL MVP award that season. Like the Betts trade the Bruins got back three prospects for Thornton. None of them really panned out and now Joe Thornton will go into the Hall of Fame as a member of the San Jose Sharks... Birds of Prey is flopping at the box office. Is it because it's a "woke" feminist vehicle? Is it because there's no Joker in the movie (which is in no way chauvinistic - it's just that Harley Quinn is joined at the hip with Joker in the DC Comic universe)? The movie has an 80% Rotten Tomatoes score so it's not a bad movie. Is it because this isn't the DC universe movie that James Gunn is directing (that would be next year's The Suicide Squad)? Not sure the reason but I'm in no hurry to see the flick. Based on the box office I guess I'm not alone...