Monday, November 06, 2006

Top 5 - The Walter Payton Award

The Walter Payton Award is the 1-AA equivalent of the Heisman Trophy. So far this year – here are who I see as the leading candidates to win the award.

1. Josh Johnson QB San Diego – leads the nation in total offense per game with 334.2 yards
2. Marcus Mason RB Youngstown St. – leads the nation in rushing per game with a 166.2 average
3. Tyler Thigpen QB Coastal Carolina – 3rd in total offense and 3rd in QB efficiency
4. Justise Hairston RB Central Conn St – leading rusher in 1-AA with 1,630 yards
5. Liam Coen QB UMass – leads the nation in passing efficiency and QB of one of the top teams in the nation

Honorable mention: Scott Phaydavong RB Drake, Mike McLeod RB Yale, Sean Schaefer QB Towson, Collin Drafts QB Charleston Southern

Note - when I say "leads the nation" - I am referring to 1-AA teams and stats.

No comments:

Post a Comment